Skip to content

It was a Move-In Weekend

September 7, 2010

This weekend, my bf and I finally moved in together. I’ve been anxious about this change from the moment we found out we were expecting. A lot of the emotion comes from my very young, immature relationship/marriage with my first son’s father. Of course that relationship ended just as dramatic as it began..

The first day of moving I was a wreck. I’m only 3 weeks out from my c-section so I’m not able to do much of anything. 🙂 This, in itself, was hard for me to overcome with all of my control issues, but my bf was amazing, working with my mother and brother to get things moved over to the new place. I was crabby and didn’t contribute much other than attitude. 😦

Fortunately, the bf overlooked my poor attitude and continued moving things on day 2. I decided to accept that my life is transitioning again. As it did before. I can embrace and enjoy it or make it miserable for everyone around me. How dare I choose to make it more miserable for the man who is caring my bed, couches, millions of shoes, dishes and cat litter pan into our new home?

After 3 days of moving we still have a few things lingering in the old place and some cleaning to do, but the feelings of positive change are overwhelming! (I’ve always known I picked a great guy this time around, Why do I forget that??) We got to settle in and talk about my fears and his fears and what were excited about. It was so relieving to hear him talk about our “family”.

Looking back on the weekend, I have an image of my ex-husband and my bf moving the washer and dryer into the new place while my son and his half-sister played out side. And the fist pumping enthusiasm my son shared as he realized my bf, me and himself all lived together now –awaiting baby… said, “YES!!! Now I have a Step-Dad!”

No matter how I’ve worried, it’s all going to be ok.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 7, 2010 8:06 PM

    You sound like a great mom. It ain’t a glamorous job, but we’ll take it. Here’s to hoping you heal quickly (c section, yikes), and they grow beautifully. Thanks for visiting and commenting on my site!

    Linda

Leave a Reply

